Stone Age/Bronze Age (pre-history–c.1000 BC)

Stone Age. We know very little about life around this area so long ago. But some excavations at sites around Melton Mowbray e.g. Edendale Road, Kirby Lane and the Country Park, have contained flint tools. The working of flint is called napping and some of the pieces that are chipped off in this process were found with the tools at the Country Park site. Our Stone Age Meltonians were hunter gatherers, the woodland landscape being home to deer, among other animals. Spindle Whorls are simple round stones with a central hole into which a pole called the distaff is fixed. This simple tool was used to spin the wool from their sheep in the same way as this Bronze Age woman is doing. This method of spinning continued right up to the 1600’s.

Bronze Age. We know that there was a settlement of some kind here because of the objects these people hid away so long ago. In 1875 the “Welby Hoard” was discovered and in 1919 it was deposited in Leicester Museum. The sword has been broken deliberately showing that bronze working was happening here. The axe heads and spear heads tell us about their tools. The bowl, tiny as it is, seen here being admired by a Bronze Age woman, is very precious as it has travelled here from Europe. The trade routes at this time extended from here right across Europe as far as Hungary. The excavations under the Samworth Brothers’ factory off Leicester Road produced 50 burial urns. The fact that these people took the time to cremate the remains of the dead and inter them in these decorated urns shows that they had a form of religion and a belief in life after death.

Click here to continue Time-Line journey >>>>

Or jump straight to the period you’re interested in:

1. Stone Age/Bronze Age (pre-history–c.1000 BC)
2. Iron Age/Roman (c. 1000 BC-410 AD)
3. Anglo-Saxon/Danelaw (410–1066)
4. Norman (1066–1154)
5. Early Medieval (1154-1272)
6. Late Medieval (1272-1485)
7. Tudor (1485-1603)
8. Stuart (1603–1714)
9. Hanoverian/Georgian (1714–1837)
10. Victorian (1837–1901)
11. Edwardian/World Wars (1901-1945)
12. Post War/Elizabeth II (1945-present)